No More Cake

11/01/2007

blaaaahhhg

Filed under: boston, life — Owen @ 7:06 pm

School: Im doing pretty sick. All Bs or better.

Work: www.Tuvonline.com is up and running. I finally got my orientation reel done. I hope its sick enough, but probably not. I really dont like going up to random people and ask them if theyre willing to be on video. Its not something I would really want done to me. But now that thats over with I can focus on parties/events. I can even do “onpoints” if i have specific questions to ask. Plus, once the checks start rolling in I have some extra motivation $-)

Life: The whole privacy thing brings me to my next point. I wouldn’t self proclaim this but some people around this school definitely have tagged me with some what of a “party connoisseur”. I definitely went to way too many freshman/sophomore year. Ironically, i tried to cut down Junior when I did the worst. But regardless, that label got me into TUV and i came away with a lot of good times and great friends.

And what Ive noticed at every party since the beginning is this. The most awkward interaction of all is the one between the small pool of black kids at these BU parties. Ill try to explain both sides of it fairly as I’ve been on both sides of the fence but what it comes down to is that there is a weird obligatory and anti-obligatory atmosphere.

I feel it makes the school a lot bigger for its African American students because it is easy for some to get lost in the swarms of white and asian kids. This is not true for all obviously as I know many Black kids that have a circle of friends (true friends, not “facebook”) that is no larger than mine. The difference is that theirs are all or mostly Black or Hispanic and mine are not.

c’est la vie,

cake

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.