No More Cake

02/08/2010

Still Getting Graded

When we made Johnny’s Leaving, we knew that we were going to need a colorist. I had been messing around with Apple Color at work but wasn’t completely sure how to use it. All I knew was that I really wanted to figure it out and this project was a perfect opportunity to do so.

After unsuccessfully looking for someone with any experience at all that was willing to work for us. I made the arrangements with Kali (director) and Paul (executive producer) to borrow a monitor and machine and perform the corrections myself. Having screened the film a few times now and speaking with colorists that have been able to take a look at it, I can safely say that it was one of the most satisyfing learning experiences I’ve had in my life.

Here’s a short reel showcasing some of the color grades performed on the film.

I used the Apple Color program to perform these grades. While it is definitely a powerful program, I really want to get my hands on an AVID Symphony system one day. It was a lot of fun learning and performing these corrections and I look forward to the opportunities to do more work in the future.

Owen

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

