No More Cake

04/16/2010

Thievery

I saw this somewhere online last night and I have to say that it definitely resonates with me. I didn’t know a lot about Jim Jarmusch before this but I’m definitely interested now.

I don’t know why but I’ve always felt something very similar to this. Observing culture, media and society bombards you with duplicates, clones and replicas. They just go by names like remake, remix and retelling. Or if they’re smart, the reteller just calls it inspiration.

There’s a reason why history repeats itself.

To no ones fault, it is incredibly hard to create something wholly original when the creator can only base their work off what he’s learned/seen/experienced in his life. If anyone has ever had similar feelings about similar experiences then it is no longer completely “original”.

On the hand, while it may not be original, it can still be authentic. And to me, authenticity far outweighs originality. Obviously, don’t completely rip someone’s work, but if you see something that moves you some how than it isn’t wrong to emulate it in your own vision.

I think I’m going to make this my first tattoo.

And no, I have not missed the irony.

Owen

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

